The ISO 14000 Family of Standards

| | , ,

ISO, or the International Organization for Standardization, lays down safety guidelines and standards. It covers the economic, environmental, and societal dimensions of development. An ISO Certification is crucial because of several reasons. ISO’s portfolio of over 18,000 standards allows organizations to execute their economic, social, and environmental responsibilities correctly. in this article we will discuss ISO 14000Family of Standards.

An Introduction to the ISO Family of Standards

The ISO 14000 family of Standards helps organizations develop proactive strategies to manage environmental issues. The Standards apply to all types of organizations, whether public or private. The ISO 14000 Standards are in line with ISO’s commitment to meet climate change challenges through greenhouse gas accounting, emissions trading, and carbon footprint measurement Standards. The ISO 14000 family of Standards reflect an international consensus.

An Overview of the Published ISO 14000 Family of Standards

Here is a brief overview of the ISO 14000 family of Standards.

ISO 14001

ISO 14001 Certification is one of the most recognized frameworks for EMS (Environmental Management Systems). It enables organizations to manage the environmental impact of their activities and demonstrate their sound environmental management ability.

ISO 14004:2004

ISO 14004:2004 is another environmental management tool created by ISO/TC 207. It complements the ISO 14001:2004 Standard by providing helpful explanations and additional guidance.

ISO 14020

The ISO 14020 series focuses its attention on the various approaches relating to environmental declarations and labels. It includes approval seals or eco-labels, self-declared claims relating to the environment, and pre-evaluated environmental information on products and services.

ISO 14031:1999

ISO 14031:1999 guides organizations on how to evaluate their environmental performance. It also aids in selecting suitable performance indicators for the management to assess performance against preset criteria. ISO 14040

The ISO 14040 series lays down guidelines relating to the conduct of life cycle assessment studies. It guides organizations on how to reduce the universal environmental impact of their products and services.

ISO 14050:2009

The ISO 14050:2009 Standard contains all vocabulary related to environmental management.

ISO 14063

The ISO 14063 Standard contains information on environmental communication structure, guidelines, and examples. It enables organizations to establish a vital link to external shareholders.

ISO 14064

Parts 1, 2, and 3 of ISO 14064 are international greenhouse gas accounting and verification Standards. They lay down transparent and verifiable requirements to help organizations dealing in emission reduction projects.

ISO 14065

ISO 14065 complements the ISO 14064 Standard by laying down guidelines to recognize organizations that undertake GHG verification or validation using the ISO 14064 or other applicable standards or procedures.

Upcoming Additions to the ISO 14000 Family of Standards

An organization’s commitment to continuously improve is an integral part of its EMS. ISO/TC 207 thoroughly understands this and continues to improve its processes to respond to an organization’s growing challenges and needs. In These upcoming additions to the ISO 14000 family of Standards will include ISO 14005, ISO 14033, ISO 14045, ISO 14051, ISO 14066, ISO 14067, and ISO 14069.


How Can ISO 14001 2015 Certification Improve Your Business?

Moreover, if you need any further guidance as regards the ISO Certification in Delhi, please feel free to communicate with our business advisors at 8881-069-069.

Download E-Startup Mobile App and never avoid the freshest updates relating to your business.


GST rate tussle over flavoured milk

History And Future Of The ISO 9000 Series Of Standards


Leave a Comment