Learn the Different Types of ISO Standards

| |

The International Organization of Standardization, ISO is a non-governmental body of 163 national standard bodies. Their main aim is to develop universal standards for various governments and businesses. Hence, they develop different types of ISO Standards. In this article, you will learn the different types of ISO Standards and Certifications that are beneficial for your business.

What is ISO Certification?

ISO standard certification is proof that a product or the company is following the standards and best practices laid by ISO. An ISO certification in India ensures credibility in the eyes of the customers, investors, stakeholders and clients.

What are ISO standards?

ISO standards are a set of best practices and management systems that promote product compatibility, solutions to problems, the know-how of the products and identification of various safety issues. The standards have been set after proper research was done by international experts. In simple words, ISO standards ensure the quality, safety and efficiency of the products and services.

The most common standards that apply to every business and organization are ISO 9001 and ISO 14001.

Most popular & Different types of ISO Standards

Here’s a list of some of the general ISO certification or common ISO standards:

  • The quality management standards help companies and organizations work better and more efficiently. It also reduces the overall number of product failures.
  • The energy management standards are responsible for optimizing energy consumption.
  • The environmental management standards set rules and regulations to reduce environmental impact, reduce waste and make systems more sustainable.
  • The food safety standard ensures that the food is safe from contamination and adulteration.
  • IT security standards ensure safe online transactions and storage of sensitive information.
  • The health and safety standards help to reduce work-related accidents and mishaps.

The 6 different types of ISO Certification & Standards 

different types of ISO Certification & Standards 

  • ISO 9001 certification

The ISO 9001 certification is a member of the popular family, ISO 9000. The standard was first established in 1987 and the terms and conditions get updated every 7 years. The ISO 9001 is responsible for implementing, creating and maintaining a quality management system for any institution of business. It applies to all industries regardless of the size of capital. The latest version of ISO 9001 certification was published in 2015 and has been in place ever since.

  • ISO 14001 certification

The ISO 14001 certification belongs to the family of standards responsible for maintaining the environment. This standard is a guide that states things that need to be done to implement an environmental management system, EMS.

  • ISO 22000 certification

This ISO standard is focused on the implementation and development of the Food Safety Management System.. Thus, ISO 22000 certification enables an industry or an organization to directly get involved in the food chain. The industry can plan, operate, maintain, implement and update the FSMS providing products and services which are safe.

  • ISO 27001 certification

The ISO 27001 certification is the standard for Information Security Management System, ISMS. The last version of the standard was published in 2013. The ISO standard specifies all the management systems to bring information security under management control and state some specific requirements. The organizations that fulfil these requirements can be certified by a certification body after completing an audit.

  • ISO 450001 certification

The things that need to be done to implement an occupational health and safety management system have been mentioned in the ISO 45001 certification and Standards. The standard contains various policies, plans, practices, processes, risk assessment, hazard identification and records which define the various rules about safety and health.

Take a call from Expert
  • ISO 50001 certification

The ISO 50001 certification is one of the newest standards in place. It was released in 2011 and it directs the companies to form an energy management system, EMS, which is dedicated to improving efficiency and energy usage. This also includes reducing an organization’s energy footprint by reducing the amount of greenhouse gas it emits as well as reducing the energy costs.


There are certain ISO standards in place just for every sector in the business. The standard can also be applied to non-business organizations. These standards and rules are updated and revised constantly according to the changes in environment, technology and legislation. Obtaining ISO Certification and complying with ISO Standards is certainly beneficial for everyone and every business.

Difference between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001 certification

Moreover, If you want any other guidance relating to the ISO CertificationPlease feel free to talk to our business advisors at 8881-069-069.

Download E-Startup Mobile App and Never miss the latest updates narrating to your business.


Trademark Registration process Flowchart

FSSAI Registration for Atta Chakki in India


Leave a Comment